To drink or not to drink

A friendly pint of beer

A friendly pint

A friendly pint of beer

A friendly pint

Do you drink before performing? I never have. I like to try and down one quickly afterwards but I don’t want the drink to slow me down. I’m also afraid that it will become something I’d need to have.

I know plenty of people drink when performing, although most don’t get completely smashed (with one or two notable exceptions). More often I suspect having a pint in one hand is a prop, something to hold and a way of saying to the audience “I’m one of you”.

I’m sure there is a perfect balance to be struck where you have enough alcohol to relax you but so much is makes your brain fuzzy. But I know what I’m like when I’m nervous and/or impatient. Drinking is something to do and I would do it too quickly. I think I’ll stick to sparkling water for now.

Leave a Reply

