Comedy Bin – Anatolia Bar, Hackney – 18 August 2010: How I did

Badly.

I got some laughs from the large and interested audience but there were less and less as I went on. Until by the end the guys at the bar were getting more laughs than I was.

Speaking to the excellent Brendan O’Donoghue afterwards, he told me what I already knew. I was too tight up there. Introverting, thinking about myself and what I was doing and all the technical things instead of connecting with the audience.

So when they did talk back to me I wasn’t ready, I wasn’t talking to the audience. I was talking at them. I still got a few laughs but it didn’t flow. I didn’t enjoy it so how can I expect the audience to?

I think I have been putting too much pressure on myself to get laughs on every punchline. That’s not going to happen, even if I was perfect, not everyone likes every joke. It’s more important that they like me.

My mission for my next gig. Forget yourself, forget the material even. Talk to the audience. Relax, enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

