How I did at Party Piece 10 August 2010

I probably wasn’t bad. I opened, usually a tough ask, but Suzi  had warmed the crowd up so well that shouldn’t have made a difference. I got some laughs and my trusty closer made sure I didn’t walk off to silence, but I still came off feeling frustrated. Plenty of jokes that usually get laughs didn’t. I’ve been trying to work out why.

I was trying out new material. But I don’t think that was the problem. At least it’s not the material, but the fact that it’s new.

Because it’s new I spent too much energy just trying to remember the words and didn’t concentrate properly on my performance. I didn’t sell it. So people didn’t buy it.

Why? Because the material wasn’t at my fingertips. I hadn’t practised it enough at home, in front of the mirror.

The Lesson: I need to run through my material regularly, like a musician practising scales. And new material has to be learnt. Thoroughly.

Then I need to relax, trust that I know the words and enjoy the performance. The more I learn about comedy the more I realise that most audiences would rather watch a performer they love reading the phone book (you know, the phone book – it’s what we had before facebook – ask your dad) than watch a nervous performer tell the best jokes in the history of the universe. And I don’t have the best jokes in the history of the universe.

Thanks for listening to my self-absorbed ramblings.

Leave a Reply

